To preserve Sweet Arrow Lake to ensure that future generations may enjoy the benefits and memories that the lake has provided to us and past generations.
History of the Lake
The lake has a rich history, beginning in the 19th century when it served as a water supply for the Union Canal. It brought prosperity to the region by supporting the lumber and coal industries. It also provided recreation for residents of that time; one popular activity was Ascension Day fishing. The dam was destroyed during the flood of 1862 and later a new dam was built to support an electric generation plant operated by the East Penn Electric Company in the 1920’s and later, PP&L. In 1972 the lake was purchased by the Borough of Pine Grove. Most residents of Schuylkill County have pleasant memories of fishing, swimming, picnicking, boating, and relaxing in the serene beauty of the lake. On February 21, 2001, Schuylkill County purchased the lake with the intention of creating a county park.